Ryan Bower makes 100th appearance for Worcester Warriors against Dragons

December 07 2019
Ryan Bower makes 100th appearance for Worcester Warriors against Dragons

Worcester Warriors loosehead prop Ryan Bower will make his 100th appearance for the club in Saturday’s European Challenge Cup match against Dragons at Sixways.

Bower joined Warriors from Leicester Tigers in the summer of 2014 and was recruited by then-director of rugby Dean Ryan who, ironically, will be in charge of Dragons on Saturday.

Bower will become the 24th Warriors player to reach the 100 appearances landmark, just two weeks after centre Ryan Mills joined the 100 Club in Castres.

Bower will have the honour of leading out Warriors against Dragons, having battled back from a ruptured Achilles tendon which ruled him out of most of last season.

Two more players who are closing in on 100 appearances for Warriors will line up alongside Bower against Dragons.

Openside flanker Matt Cox, who missed the first two months of the season because of illness, will make his 98th appearance and club captain and number eight GJ van Velze his 92nd.

There will be a debut for Academy full-back Noah Heward, who has impressed playing for Stourbridge in National Two North on a dual registration this season.

Scrum-half Callum Morris, who has also been playing for Stourbridge, is in line to make his Warriors debut as a replacement, having received a late call-up to the bench.

Former Blues and Northland hooker Matt Moulds will make his first start for Warriors, having made two appearances off the bench in the past two weeks.

Lock Andrew Kitchener returns to action, having recovered from a rib injury which he sustained in the Challenge Cup victory over Enisei-STM in Russia three weeks ago.

Chris Pennell will start on the right wing as Tom Howe is unavailable for selection this weekend because he is attending his brother’s wedding.

Perry Humphreys has also been ruled out by injury.

Kick-off is at 3pm.

15 Noah Heward
14 Chris Pennell
13 Ollie Lawrence
12 Ryan Mills
11 Nick David
10 Jamie Shillcock
9 Michael Heaney
1 Ryan Bower
2 Matt Moulds
3 Conor Carey
4 Andrew Kitchener
5 Justin Clegg
6 Tom Dodd
7 Matt Cox
8 GJ van Velze (C)

16 Isaac Miller
17 Kai Owen
18 Richard Palframan
19 James Scott
20 Morgan Monks
21 Jono Kitto
22 Gareth Simpson
23 Callum Morris