Te'o named as replacement for Warriors against Ospreys

October 19 2018
Te'o named as replacement for Warriors against Ospreys

Centre Ben Te’o is set to make his first appearance of the season for Warriors in their European Challenge Cup match against Ospreys at Sixways tomorrow.

Te’o has missed the first seven matches of the season because of injury but he has trained fully this week and he has been named as a replacement for Warriors’ second match in Pool Two.

Te’o was yesterday named in England’s squad for a training camp in Portugal next week ahead of the opening match of the Quilter International autumn series against South Africa along with his Warriors team-mates Ted Hill and Nick Schonert.

Hill, who is celebrating his first England call-up, will start against Ospreys in a side that sees four changes to the one that beat Stade Francais 38-27 in Paris last week.

South Africa international Wynand Olivier, who made his first appearance of the season off the bench in Paris, will start in place of Ashley Beck who broke a leg in the third minute against Stade.

Olivier will captain the side, taking over from Jono Lance who led the side in Paris.

Jamie Shillcock, who scored a try within three minutes of coming off the bench in Paris for his first start of the season, will start in place of Lance against Ospreys.

Hooker Jack Singleton comes into the front row for his 50th Warriors appearance with Darren Barry coming into the second row in the other change to the pack.

Utility back Scott van Breda, a summer signing from Jersey Reds, is in line to make his Warriors debut having been named as a replacement.

The match starts at 3pm.

Warriors team:

15 Perry Humphreys

14 Dean Hammond

13 Ollie Lawrence

12 Wynand Olivier (C)

11 Tom Howe

10 Jamie Shillcock

9 Michael Heaney

1 Ethan Waller

2 Jack Singleton

3 Simon Kerrod

4 Pierce Phillips

5 Darren Barry

6 Ted Hill

7 Matti Williams

8 Matt Cox


16 Niall Annett

17 Kai Owen

18 Gareth Milasinovich

19 James Scott

20 Andrew Kitchener

21 Jonny Arr

22 Scott van Breda

23 Ben Te’o