Michael Heaney starts for Worcester Warriors against Exeter Chiefs

November 02 2019
Michael Heaney starts for Worcester Warriors against Exeter Chiefs

Worcester Warriors scrum-half Michael Heaney will make his first Gallagher Premiership start of the season against Exeter Chiefs at Sixways on Sunday.

Heaney fills the gap left by South Africa international Francois Hougaard who suffered a rotator cuff injury in a shoulder last week and will be sidelined for at least three weeks.

Heaney, who is in his second season with Warriors, played in three Premiership Rugby Cup matches earlier this season but this will be only the second Premiership start of his career and his first since Gloucester at Kingsholm 11 months ago.

With Jono Kitto, another scrum-half, ruled out by a groin injury Warriors have called up Gareth Simpson for a possible Premiership debut off the bench.

Simpson, who turns 22 on Saturday, joined the Three Pears Warriors Academy during the summer having impressed in the Premiership Rugby Shield in the second half of last season while he was on trial.

Warriors have made two changes to their pack with Callum Black and Graham Kitchener starting at loosehead prop and lock respectively with Ethan Waller and Michael Fatialofa on the bench.

Back-row forward Marco Mama has recovered from the head injury that ruled him out of the Northampton match and he has been named as one of six forward replacements.

Centre Ryan Mills will again captain Warriors on his 99th appearance for the club.

Kick-off is at 3pm.


15 Chris Pennell

14 Perry Humphreys

13 Ashley Beck

12 Ryan Mills (C)

11 Melani Nanai

10 Duncan Weir

9 Michael Heaney

1 Callum Black

2 Niall Annett

3 Conor Carey

4 Anton Bresler

5 Graham Kitchener

6 Ted Hill

7 Sam Lewis

8 Cornell du Preez


16 Joe Taufete’e

17 Ethan Waller

18 Richard Palframan

19 Michael Fatialofa

20 GJ van Velze

21 Marco Mama

22 Gareth Simpson

23 Francois Venter

Players not considered for selection due to injury: Will Butler, Tom Dodd, Alex Hearle, Francois Hougaard, Andrew Kitchener, Jono Kitto, Matt Moulds, Farai Mudariki, Nick Schonert.